The Palбcio do Deгo Opposite Holy Cross Church,
Quepem, Goa,India. 403 705
Contact:
+91 (0)832 2664029
+91 98 2248 0342
+91 98 2317 5639

The Palбcio do Deгo is situated, 14 km from Margao, on the banks of the wildly beautiful Kushavati River in the Taluka of Quepem.

A Palatial house, it occupies 11,000 sq ft of floor area. It is built in an unusual style of architecture and has an interesting blend of Hindu and Portuguese cultures.

Also outstanding are its lush gardens that have still managed to preserve their historical features and have, since old times, been known as the most beautiful pleasure gardens in Goa

The gardens, with features such as a pond, loggia, balustrades, vases, stone ornaments, and a belvedere tell us of a complex garden, unparallel in Goa.

Quepem, part of the new conquests was incorporated in Goa along with the territories of Ponda, Zambaulim, Canacona, Paroda, Mulem and the Fortress of Cabo de Rama only in 1782, in an agreement signed between the Portuguese and the Rei of Sundem.

The Palбcio do Deгo was built in 1787, by a Portuguese noble man, who was Dean of the Church and the Founder of Quepem town. The house situated on a hillock, faces the Church he built.

He established, at his own expense, a public market, hospital, Church and other facilities for the benefit of the inhabitants, as inscribed on the pyramidal structure in the churchyard.


The Deгo, Jose Paulo, arrived in Goa in 1779 along with the Archbishop, Dom Frei de Santa Catarina, famously known as the barefooted friar, who died in the Palбcio do Deгo and whose mortal remains are in the Church of Quepem.

On the death of Archbishop Manuel de S. Galdino, in absence of a new Archbishop, he governed the archdiocese from July 1831 up to 1835.

In 1829, he presented the Palбcio do Deгo to the Viceroys of India-Portuguese, for their recreation, so that they may protect the estate and institutions he had founded. The Conde de Torres Novas (Antonio Vasconcelos Correia) and the Conde de Sarzedas (Bernado J.de Lorena) are some of the Viceroys who spent their holidays here.

The Deгo died on the 10thJan.1835, after spending 55 years in Goa, and is buried in the Se Cathedral in front of the altar of N. S. da Dores, the image of which has been transferred from His Palбcio do Deгo to the Se.

It has been restored and opened for the public.

With its rich history, unique architecture, art and artifacts, it is a showcase of Goan culture and tradition depicting the lifestyle of the past.

Visitors can enjoy Indo-Portuguese cuisine on the belvedere, overlooking the Kushavati River.

Its extensive gardens and location on the banks of the river make it an interesting place to observe birds and other wildlife.

HISTORY - The Deгo in Quepem
In 1787, Pe. J.P. de Almeida transferred his residence from Old Goa to Quepem and founded a hamlet. Quepem was, in those days, covered with forest. He ordered the planting of rice, coconut palms and other fruit trees.

He established a public market, hospital and other facilities for the benefit of the inhabitants.

He also founded the St. Cruz Church, at his own cost, as inscribed on the pyramidal structure in the churchyard.

It is believed that the Deгo, began by erecting two columns at the entrance of Quepem. Thereafter, he obtained permission that criminal offenders who entered this village across these columns to work could rehabilitate themselves in this village which he had founded. Thus, he was able to establish Quepem as arable, self sustaining and habitable place.

It is not known the origin of this story, but one is able to still see the bases of these columns at the entrance of Quepem.

He constructed in Quepem, for his occasional stay, a spacious house that he modestly described as a ‘Farm House’. It was later, justifiably, come to be known as the ‘Palбcio Do Deгo’

India Tour Explorer
[Call for information, Itinerary options, Quotes for Tailor Made Holidays, Bookings etc.]

Рекомендуем ознакомится: http://www.indiatravelite.com